We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

WP_20150321_15_44_31_Pro (2) Author: Karen Joy Fowler

Finished on: 20 March 2015

Where did I get this book: Bought at WH Smith, St Pancras Station in January 2015 (because I had a train journey ahead of me, and even though I had two books with me, I wanted a spare).

My favourite books have been some of the strongest influences I’ve ever had over my world view, and how I live my life. And it’s good to know that even at the ripe old age of 37, I can still be challenged by good book, and come away seeing the world differently.

This book is brilliantly written, an absolute joy of a page turner. But it also made me seriously consider becoming a vegetarian for the first time in over 20 years. I will definitely be taking a lot more care to check the provenance of the meat I eat and buy for my family.

One gorgeous thing about Fowler’s writing is her referencing of other literature – Charlotte’s Web treated with the same respect and seriousness as Hamlet, The Lord Of The Rings as Kafka. I remember when I was young, 11 or 12, going from The Famous Five to Jane Eyre and not understanding that there was any difference – and I love this unsnobbish, democratic appreciation of all books on an equal footing.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

