The Miniaturist

Miniaturist

Author: Jessie Burton

Finished on: 23 March 2015

Where did I get this book: Scarthin Books, Cromford (the third best bookshop in Derbyshire!)

This is one of those books that is suddenly everywhere, and while that’s not something that generally appeals to me, this one sounded right up my street. I follow the author and the author’s agent on twitter (although Jessie Burton now seems to have left?) and they talked about the strong female-led plot, and someone also described it to me as ‘Rebeccaish‘ referring to the Du Maurier classic that I love.

And it is great. A very good book indeed, with engaging and unusual characters, and a fascinating setting.

However, all book reviews are of course inherently massively subjective, and I’m not going to pretend to be anything else here. I’ve read some absolute corkers recently, some real knock your socks off books, that are written in an original and challenging way, that push boundaries.

And this felt a little bit… well, civilised by comparison. A little bit conventional.

I don’t want to do this book a disservice, because it is ever so good. But any book you read in the middle of the Chaos Walking trilogy and We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves is going to struggle to compare.

I do, however, really want to read a sequel. The book ends on a set up that I found most compelling, and would love to know how it pans out for those concerned. Also, I hope it’s not too much of a spoiler to say that this book contains one of the most realistic descriptions of childbirth I’ve come across in a while. Shudder.

Recommended.

One comment

Leave a Reply

